A Graduate | Nadine

In May, I closed a chapter of my life as I completed my time at Renaissance College at the University of New Brunswick, which gave me a Bachelor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Leadership Studies. It was quite a bittersweet experience, as I was so excited to move on to better things, but I do have so many good memories and relationships that originated from my time spent there. As with most graduates, there were also times of immense frustration, times where I was unsure that I would make it through, and times where I felt stretched way too thin. Although I am ecstatic to leave these unpleasant pressures behind, I also recognize that these times have prepared me for many of life’s challenges in the so-called “real-world” (even though I don’t find the term realistic).

Nevertheless, I have so much to be grateful for. Through project-based courses that offered experiential learning and internships that put me in places of leadership, I was able to gain community experience in realistic settings and make connections with key members of local organizations. Two weeks after graduation, I was incredibly happy to accept a position as a Technical Writer at a local consulting firm. After discussing my career goals with my employer, this position quickly morphed into Associate Consultant, as we believed it offered more room for long-term growth and learning. In this position, I will work on policy writing, business planning and relations, document-management system creation, and project management. Additionally, I am incredibly lucky to be with employers that are eager to train me in my weak spots such as financial management and multimedia development.

Although I may be leaving the formal education system (for now), I will never be able to settle without lifelong learning. I get bored very easily and am constantly pushing myself to achieve better things. I’m fortunate to be in a career that facilitates my occupational growth. Besides, maybe now that I don’t have to focus so much on meeting the illusion of perfection, I can learn how to be great. Maybe years of being told that everyone is exceptional has destroyed our spirits, and only when we recognize ourselves as a part of society do we learn that success, in its true form, can only be obtained when we stop listening to the stories of our schools and start listening to the facts of our education.

13254755_1188574177833033_3857065079405515677_oIMG_7848

 

 

Leave a Reply

